Victorian Premier's Literary Awards shortlists

Congratulations to Rohan Wilson and Justine Larbalestier whose books have been shortlisted for the 2015 Victorian Premier's Literary Awards! Rohan Wilson's To Name Those Lost is up for the Fiction prize, while Justine Larbalestier's Razorhurst has been nominated in the Young Adult category.

The judges commented of To Name Those Lost that 'The writing is compelling and vivid, the use of language superb, and Wilson skillfully weaves the narrative through fiction and history to its awful conclusion.' Of Razorhurst, they note that 'This structurally complex novel moves at a pace that allows no room for uncertainty, and Larbalestier never falters. She deftly paints a moment from Australian history rarely, if ever, seen in young adult fiction, and the result is clever, original and extremely well executed.'

Readers can vote for their favourite nominee in the Reader's Choice award here. Winners will be named in early 2015.

The Victorian Premier's Literary Awards were inaugurated by the Victorian Government in 1985 to honour literary achievement by Australian writers. The Awards are administered by the Wheeler Centre for Books, Writing and Ideas on behalf of the Premier of Victoria.

To Name Those Lost

by Rohan Wilson

From the bestselling author of The Roving Party, comes a moving father and son story set amidst the beauty and the violence of the poor and preyed upon of our colonial past.

More details


by Justine Larbalestier

Kelpie and Dymphna are accustomed to the mean streets of 1930s Sydney, but this is a day that will test their courage, their loyalty, and their ability to survive both the ill-intentions of the living and the ever-presence of the dead.

More details