Separation for Beginners

Joe Portman
AUD $32.99
No image set
Availability: Not Yet Published

Pete's swearing is getting worse. What with the divorce, the debt, and the dying travel business, no one seems to need him anymore. A feel-good novel about what happens when you let go of the past and make room for the unexpected later in life.

A refreshing, laugh-out-loud, feel-good novel about what happens when you let go of the past and make room for the unexpected later in life - for fans of Beth O'Leary's The Flatshare and Marian Keyes' Grown Ups.

There are millions of people who would be grateful - even thrilled - to start over. Pete Smith isn't one of them.

Pete's swearing is getting worse. What with the divorce, the debt, and the dying travel business, no one seems to need him anymore. Well, except for his 23-year-old daughter, who - jobless and unable to afford London rents - is moving back home.

Pete's delighted - he'll even put up with his daughter Susie's bothersome boyfriend, Niall, who struggles with the concept of personal space and only adds to Pete's neglected to-do list. But when Susie lands a job in Stockholm and flies the nest for good, Pete finds himself stuck with a flatmate he never signed up for - and out of excuses to hold onto the past.

One day he'll get around to fixing the lock on the bathroom door, figuring out what to do with his failing business, evicting his daughter's boyfriend from his house, and maybe even getting over his ex-wife...

But it turns out there are some things you can't put off until later - and some people who won't let you.

Author bio:

Joe Portman is the pen name for literary fiction writer Tom Connolly, who has been longlisted for the Desmond Elliott Prize, shortlisted for the Writers' Guild of Great Britain Award and celebrated in publications such as theFinancial Times, theGuardian and theDaily Mail. This is the first in a series of up-lit commercial novels. Before becoming a writer he made award-winning short films and spent 20 years directing commercials and music videos all over the world. He lives in Brighton with his partner and kids.

Category: Fiction
ISBN: 9781802791761
Publisher: Welbeck
Imprint: Welbeck
Pub Date: August 2022
Page Extent: 400
Format: Paperback - C format
Subject: Fiction & related items

AustralianVogels-neutral-380--590-px

Reading Groups

It's a great time to be in a reading group! Discover new titles and books you might not normally pick up and buy, or re-examine books you already know and love. You can make your reading experience richer and more rewarding by being a member of a reading group and meeting others who are interested in sharing their reading experience. ... find out more

For the latest Reading Group Notes, news and competitions subscribe here