E. Lockhart

Emily Lockhart is the author of eight YA novels including the bestselling We Were Liars and The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks, a Michael L. Printz Award Honor Book, a finalist for the National Book Award, and recipient of the Cybils Award for best young adult novel. She has a doctorate in English Literature from Columbia University and has taught composition, literature and creative writing. Her books have been translated into ten languages.

Books by E. Lockhart

Family of Liars

Published: May 2022

The page-turning must-read thriller prequel to We Were Liars, #1 New York Times bestseller and TikTok sensation, takes readers back to the story of another summer, another generation, and the secrets that will haunt them for decades to come.

Genuine Fraud

Published: January 2021

How far would you go to become someone else? A masterful young adult thriller from the author of blockbuster bestseller We Were Liars.

Again Again

Published: June 2020

In this novel full of surprises from the New York Times bestselling author of We Were Liars and Genuine Fraud, E. Lockhart ups the ante with an inventive and romantic story about human connection, forgiveness, self-discovery, and possibility.


Published: January 2017

Two teen theatre-fanatics. One dream. And summer drama camp. A fantastic and funny book from international best-selling author of We Were Liars.

Fly on the Wall

Published: November 2016

From the author of the best-seller, We Were Liars and critically acclaimed The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau- Banks, comes a story about one girl who saw everything...

The Boyfriend List: A Ruby Oliver Novel 1

Published: July 2016

Fifteen boys, 43 lists, 120 footnotes, and too many panic attacks to count, all in four novels about Ruby Oliver. From the best-selling author of We Were Liars.

The Boy Book: A Ruby Oliver Novel 2

Published: July 2016

In the fabulous follow up to The Boyfriend List, Ruby Oliver finds herself back at Tate Prep for the start of junior year. Join Ruby as she confronts: the secret about Noel; the interpretation of boy-speak; the horrors of the school trip; new entries in The Boy Book; and the exploitation of boobs everywhere.

The Treasure Map of Boys: A Ruby Oliver Novel 3

Published: July 2016

In this companion novel to The Boyfriend List and The Boy Book, Ruby struggles to overcome her Rabbit Fever, to understand what constitutes a real friendship, and to find true love - if such a thing exists.

Real Live Boyfriends: A Ruby Oliver Novel 4

Published: July 2016

The hilarious final instalment of the Ruby Oliver novels finds Ruby interviewing her friends for a documentary on love and popularity. In the process, she turns up some uncomfortable truths - and searches for a way to make things good again with Noel.

The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks

Published: January 2015

A witty teen novel filled with pranks, rebellion and gender politics from the international best-selling author of We Were Liars.

We Were Liars

Published: July 2014

The story of one family, one summer, and one act that may never be forgiven. 'Thrilling, beautiful and blisteringly smart - utterly unforgettable.' JOHN GREEN. Featuring special bonus material from the author.

Back to Authors List