William McIlvanney
NZD $22.99

In the beginning there was Laidlaw...the CWA Silver Dagger-winning masterpiece that launched a genre, from the godfather of Scottish crime fiction.


'The pure distilled essence of Scottish crime writing' PETER MAY

'A bloody good read' VAL McDERMID

'If you only read one crime novel this year, this should be it' Guardian

When a young woman is found brutally murdered in Kelvingrove Park, only one man stands a chance of finding her killer. Jack Laidlaw. He is a man of contrasts, ravaged by inner demons but driven by a deep compassion for the violent criminals in Glasgow's underworld. But will Laidlaw's unorthodox methods get him to the killer in time, when the victim's father is baying for blood?

Acclaimed for its corrosive wit, dark themes and original maverick detective, the Laidlaw trilogy has earned the status of classic crime fiction.

Author bio:

WILLIAM McILVANNEY's first novel, Remedy is None, won the Geoffrey Faber Memorial Prize and with Docherty he won the Whitbread Award for Fiction. Laidlaw and The Papers of Tony Veitch both gained Silver Daggers from the Crime Writers' Association. Strange Loyalties, the third in the Detective Laidlaw trilogy, won the Glasgow Herald's People's Prize. McIlvanney died in December 2015.

Laidlaw is the first book in the Laidlaw Trilogy.

Category: Popular fiction
ISBN: 9781838850326
Publisher: A&U Canongate
Imprint: Canongate PBS
Pub Date: August 2020
Page Extent: 304
Format: Paperback - B format
Subject: Popular fiction