P.D. James

pd james


P. D. James was born in Oxford in 1920 and educated at Cambridge High School for Girls. From 1949 to 1968 she worked in the National Health Service and subsequently in the Home Office, first in the Police Department and later in the Criminal Policy Department.

All that experience was used in her novels. She was a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature and of the Royal Society of Arts and served as a Governor of the BBC, a member of the Arts Council, where she was Chairman of the Literary Advisory Panel, on the Board of the British Council and as a magistrate in Middlesex and London. She was an Honorary Bencher of the Honourable Society of the Inner Temple.

She won awards for crime writing in Britain, America, Italy and Scandinavia, including the Mystery Writers of America Grandmaster Award and The National Arts Club Medal of Honor for Literature (US). She received honorary degrees from seven British universities, was awarded an OBE in 1983 and was created a life peer in 1991. In 1997 she was elected President of the Society of Authors, stepping down from the post in August 2013.

Books by P.D. James

A Taste for Death

Published: May 2019

Set in London, A Taste for Death is the seventh Adam Dalgliesh mystery from P.D. James, a compulsive thriller and a chilling study of the complex motives behind cold-hearted murder.

Original Sin

Published: May 2019

Set on the banks of the River Thames in the literary world,P.D. James's Original Sin is the ninth Adam Dalgliesh mystery and a brilliant work of crime fiction from the bestselling author of Death Comes to Pemberley.

Innocent Blood

Published: May 2019

Innocent Blood is a stand-alone thriller and chilling mystery from P.D. James, the bestselling author of Death Comes to Pemberley and Children of Men.

The Victim

Published: April 2019

The late, great P. D. James takes us inside the mind of a murderer.

Death Comes to Pemberley

Published: November 2018

In Death Comes to Pemberley, P. D. James masterfully recreates the world of Jane Austen in Pride and Prejudice, and combines it with the excitement and suspense of brilliantly-crafted crime fiction.

Sleep No More

Published: November 2018

The acknowledged 'Queen of Crime', P. D. James, was a past master of the short story, weaving together motifs of the Golden Age of crime-writing with deep psychological insight to create gripping, suspenseful tales.

A Certain Justice

Published: July 2018

A beautiful new edition of one of P. D. James's classic novels.

The Private Patient

Published: July 2018

A beautiful new edition of The Private Patient, published for the first time as a Faber Paperback.

The Children of Men

Published: May 2018

The Children of Men is P.D. James's stand-alone dystopian novel of mass infertility and chilling mystery.

The Mistletoe Murder and Other Stories

Published: December 2017

Now in a festive paperback: 'Well-turned, atmospheric tales from one of crime fiction's greats.' - The Age

Back to Authors List