Kerry Greenwood

Kerry Greenwood is the author of many bestselling novels and the editor of two collections.

The Phryne Fisher series (pronounced Fry-knee, to rhyme with briny) began in 1989 with Cocaine Blues which was a great success. Kerry says that as long as people want to read them, she can keep writing them.

She is also the author of the Corinna Chapman series, which includes Earthly Delights (2004), Heavenly Pleasures (2005), Devil's Food (2006), Trick or Treat (2008), Forbidden Fruit (2010) and Cooking the Books (2011). She is also the author of several books for young adults and the Delphic Women WC series. When she is not writing she is an advocate in Magistrates' Court for the Legal Aid Commission. She is not married, has no children and lives with a registered wizard.

More about Kerry Greenwood

When did you start writing?
As soon as I could form the letters. My first sentence was 'the world is round and spins in space' and it still strikes me as a poetic and important statement.

Who or what was the biggest inspiration for you to become a writer?
Just about everyone, really - I read everything - Chaucer, Shakespeare, Keats, Wallace Stevens, Dylan Thomas. Dickens is my favourite novelist along with Mrs Gaskell, Dorothy Sayers and John Buchan.

If you had to recommend everyone to read just one book what would it be?
No fair. One book? Only ONE book? Well, all right, The Lord of the Rings.  And the bible. And the Collected Works of Wm Shakespeare.

Where do you do your writing?
In a small office at the front  of my small house, where I can see people walking past. In a nice seaside cottage I just stare at the sea. I once tried to shut myself away to write a book and nearly went off my head with loneliness. I need a nice urban landscape, with passing cats.

When you’re not writing what do you do?
I'm a duty solicitor with Victoria Legal Aid once a week. I also embroider, make clothes weed the garden contemplate the goldfish and go for long walks. And read a lot. My TBR (To Be Read) pile is now taller than I am.

What’s your earliest memory?
Being picked up out of my seawater pond by my father when I was eighteen months old. It was a frightfully hot night and we had gone down to the beach so my mother could put her swollen ankles in the sea. Then she went into labour, my father picked me up, and I screamed because I liked it where I was. I can still recall the feeling of his hands closing around my torso. It felt very safe.

What makes you laugh?
P G Wodehouse, Terry Pratchett. Verbal humour. I do not, even reflexively, laugh when someone slips on a banana skin.

What is your proudest moment?
When I graduated from Melbourne University with two degrees, or when I held my first book in my hand. I slept with it under my pillow for a week, in case i had imagined it.

Books by Kerry Greenwood

The Spotted Dog

Published: October 2018

Intrepid baker and erstwhile investigator Corinna Chapman returns triumphantly in her first adventure in seven years.

A Question of Death

Published: November 2013

A celebration of the divine Phryne Fisher, this special collectable treat for her fans is lavishly illustrated in full colour and includes all-new Phryne short stories, plus recipes and other miscellany.

Murder and Mendelssohn

Published: September 2013

The divine and fearless Miss Phryne Fisher returns in her 20th adventure in a vastly entertaining tale of murder, spies, mathematics and music.

Dead Man's Chest

Published: August 2013

The unflappable Phryne is off on a quiet seaside holiday with Dot, Jane and Ruth - surely they won't be disturbed by a murder .

Evan's Gallipoli

Published: April 2013

A gripping novel about an incredible journey behind enemy lines, told in diary form.

The Honourable Phryne Fisher Returns

Published: December 2012

Phryne Fisher, the 1920s most elegant and irrepressible sleuth, returns in her second three adventures - bound together in one great value volume.

Cocaine Blues

Published: June 2005

This is where it all started! The first classic Phryne Fisher mystery, featuring our delectable heroine, cocaine, communism and adventure. Phryne leaves the tedium of English high society for Melbourne, Australia, and never looks back.

Flying Too High

Published: June 2005

The second in the classic Phryne Fisher series from Kerry Greenwood, featuring the irresistible heroine Phryne. Whether she's foiling kidnappers, seducing beautiful young men or simply deciding what to wear for dinner, Phryne handles everything with her inimitable panache and flair.

Death at Victoria Dock

Published: March 2005

Phryne Fisher returns in her fourth magical mystery amidst bullets, sexy ex-anarchists, furs, tattooists and silken lingerie.

Blood and Circuses

Published: February 2005

Phryne Fisher goes to the circus for her sixth mystery. Stripped of her identity and wealth, it's only Phryne's keen wit and sharp thinking that will help her now.

The Green Mill Murder

Published: February 2005

Phryne Fisher's fifth mystery intrigues with excitement, glamour, murder, dance halls and blackmail.

The Castlemaine Murders

Published: June 2003

In this thirteenth Phryne Fisher mystery, Phryne returns with a flourish to solve the most horrifying crime yet which takes her from a funfair ghost train to an abandoned mine in the old gold fields.

Death Before Wicket

Published: June 2003

The sassy Phryne Fisher comes to Sydney! This is the tenth, classic Phryne Fisher mystery.

Raisins and Almonds

Published: June 2002

Super-sleuth Phryne Fisher steps, like an elegant cat, through this, her ninth adventure.

Away With the Fairies

Published: April 2001

Exciting, gorgeous, adventurous and brave. That's Phryne Fisher, returning in her tenth crime mystery novel.

Back to Authors List